Misdemeanors are less serious than felonies in Arizona. However, aside from fines, fees, and other charges, misdemeanors are still punishable by up to six months in the county or local jail.
In Arizona, misdemeanors are classified into three levels according to severity: Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3. Class 1 is the most serious because it has the severest penalties.
Penalties for each class are discussed in detail below. If you are facing a misdemeanor charge in Arizona, now is the time to contact our criminal defense lawyers to review your case.
|Maximum Penalties for Class 1 Misdemeanor||Maximum Penalties for Class 2 Misdemeanor||Maximum Penalties for Class 3 Misdemeanor|
|Six months jail time||Four months jail time||30 days jail time|
|$2,500 in fines||$750 in fines||$500 in fines|
Prostitution and pimping fall under this category of crime.
he statutes declare that those who have a previous misdemeanor or petty offense convictions may be sentenced to the next higher misdemeanor level. As such, Class 1 penalties may be imposed on someone who is charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor if he has past convictions. It also states that the court may require that a person charged with a misdemeanor may not be released until the sentence has been fully served.
If you are facing felony charges like possession of marijuana, your attorney may be able to reduce your charge to a class 1 misdemeanor.
Arizona law charges a misdemeanor class 2 offense to people infected with a contagious or infectious disease who knowingly expose others to that disease in a public place or thoroughfare. As with Class 1, those who have a previous misdemeanor or petty offense convictions may be sentenced to the next higher misdemeanor level, which means that Class 2 penalties may be imposed on someone who is charged with a Class 3 misdemeanor if he has past convictions.
Criminal speeding is an example of a Class 3 misdemeanor. Asking a person to buy, sell or give you alcohol if you are a minor, under the age of 21, is also considered as a Class 3 misdemeanor.
Although misdemeanors can carry jail time up to six months, first-time misdemeanors are typically given lesser penalties. You may be able to reduce your charges and punishments if you agree to participate in a diversion program, if available, or comply with other requirements of the court to lessen your penalties.
For Class 1 misdemeanors, aside from jail time, the court may impose other penalties that may be corrective, punitive, or restorative. This could be any of the following
As with the actual penalties, the fines vary depending on your specific charge and circumstances.
If you are charged with a misdemeanor, you will most likely undergo a trial by jury. It is advisable that you immediately seek counsel from an Arizona criminal defense attorney to plead their case. You have a choice to plea bargain in order to lessen, reduce, or drop some of the charges. Entering a plea can improve your circumstances. However, you should be aware of all available options before deciding on how to proceed in your case.
A misdemeanor conviction can pose grave consequences that may affect your life beyond the courtroom:
Just because a misdemeanor is not as serious as a felony, you can already be complacent. It can change your life for the worse. If you are facing a misdemeanor charge in Arizona, do not delay in seeking the advice of our criminal defense attorney. The sooner you get in touch with us, the better we can evaluate your case, assess how we can protect your rights, and get the best possible outcome for you.